Omnishambles

Sorry for the written silence these past couple of weeks. We were soaking up every minute possible with Seth’s parents, Ed and Marlene.

But I have to say, thank god they returned to the States on Saturday. No, we were not happy to see them go. In fact, as you can see by all the pictures I posted, we had an incredible time with them!

What I’m getting at is the inevitable balance to life and that this week has really sucked. Our community is having water issues, resulting in no running water for days at a time. That means no cooking, no laundry, no showering, and no using the toilets. Even the maid got irritated and went home to the kampung to take a bath.

Next, I got sick. Flu over the weekend (perhaps related to infection), then some kind of allergic reaction and/or skin infection (because of the local deodorant?) that spread quickly and forced me to go to urgent care on Monday.

Let me tell you, third world hospitals are no walk in the park. Thankfully our friend accompanied us and helped interpret my concerns to the doctor, who didn’t speak English. (Boy do I have a new found respect for medical interpreters.) But it wasn’t even that which surprised us. It was the thermometer in the box in the waiting room, which I was asked to stick under my arm. While doing so a baby played with the box while getting weighed. Box returned, thermometer thrown back in. Was it cleaned? Nope, Chuck Testa.

Then it was the doctor who was himself in pain, whining and holding his stomach. The last thing I wanted was him to examine me. Thankfully his idea of an exam was to check my lungs, make me say “ahh” three times and shine a flashlight in my ears.

What?

He then started throwing out non-related diagnosis’ and when showed an e-mail from Ed (father-in-law, Doctor) with a prescription suggestion, instantly agreed and gave it to me.

I only just realized that I received half the dosage, and will most likely have to go back. Perhaps we’ll check out another hospital and compare…? Healing thoughts are appreciated.

In the meantime, I am feeling a little better and look forward to a Thanksgiving chat with my siblings this Friday and a big Thanksgiving dinner with new expat friends this Sunday. (We found out two of them are from Oregon, too!!)

To all my friends and family back home, I hope your long weekend is filled with tasty pies, healthy doses of tryptophan, and lots of delicious wine!

ps
Familiar with the title? It’s the UK’s word of the year.

One thought on “Omnishambles

  1. Jen – so sorry to hear how sick you have been! I hope that things are on the up-n-up soon for you. We had a great Thanksgiving here in Ptown. Lots of good food, a rain-free hike on Mt Tabor, and evening games. Mira loves having the big family dinners…lots of people to entertain 🙂 Big hugs to all of you!

Whatcha think?