Kittens!

Banksy, our 7 month old kitten, had kittens. I know we’re terrible parents, (grandparents?) but she got out a few times and apparently the stars were aligned. We estimated the conception was mid-January and were really crossing our fingers we’d be here when she went into labor so we could witness it.

Boy were we naive.

You see I came home at 4:00 today to Ellie and our maid in the bathroom. She said Banksy’s water broke and she was meowing a lot. (Side note: Seth and I watched a few cat labors on YouTube to get an idea of what to expect.) I knew we were close, especially since I could see her pant and actually try to push.

After about 20 minutes, she got up and tried to walk around. It was when she crawled between my legs that she BIT my leg as she birthed her first kitten. Two more followed about 10-15 minutes later.

If you’ve never experienced something like this before… Well, I’m not sure I would recommend it. It was fascinating and Ellie was really excited and intrigued. But I don’t think she fully comprehended what was happening, like when the cat ate the afterbirth and… And… Oh it was gross.

Sorry. Birth is beautiful. And gross.

Anyway, I’ll show you some of the non-graphic bunch of the pictures and video I took. The kittens are really cute and Banksy is thankfully very maternal. They’re all passed out now… and to be honest I’m pretty damn exhausted myself just from watching.

20130322-195044.jpg

20130322-195123.jpg

20130322-195140.jpg

Whatcha think?

