Mangosteen

I’ve mentioned exotic fruits here before, such as how to cut mangos and where to buy rambutan. But today I’d like to introduce you to the mangosteen.

The shell is usually dark purple, almost black, and is very hard. Once you cut it open, a white soft fleshy ball can be found inside. The flesh is extremely soft and juicy and tastes so unique. I honestly can’t think of another similar taste, but it is wonderful.

The only real drawbacks is the inconvenience of having to cut it open and the difficulty of getting a ripe one (my luck usually finds me overripe fruit here). But today my friends, behold the perfectly ripe mangosteen. I highly recommend you try one!

20130202-130837.jpg

3 thoughts on “Mangosteen

  1. Pingback: Jackfruit | Bali or Bust

Whatcha think?

